Samatta, Aubameyang lead Africa’s 2015 Finest XI

Africa Finest XI

CAF on Thursday night announced the 2015 African Footballer of the Year as well as the continent’s Finest 11 players and substitutes.

Borussia Dortmund’s Gabon international Pierre Aubameyang won the African Footballer of the year for the first time on the bank of an impressive club performance, while Algeria and Ivory Coast players dominated the CAF Finest 11 team list.

For the African Player of the Year – Based in Africa, Tanzania and TP Mazembe striker, Mbwana  Samatta was crowned king, becoming the first from East Africa to win the coveted prize, reserved for footballers plying their trade on the continent.

Samatta tallied 127 points ahead of his TP Mazembe teammate Robert Kidiaba, who scored 88 points at second place.

Africa’s 2015 Finest Squad:

Goalkeeper: Robert Muteba Kidiaba ( DR Congo )

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast), Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia), Mohamed Meftah (Algeria)

Midfielders: Andre Ayew (Ghana), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), Sadio Mane (Senegal), Yacine Brahimi  (Algeria)

Forwards: Mbwana  Samatta (Tanzania), Pierre-Emerrick Aubameyang (Gabon), Baghdad Bounedjah  (Algeria)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *